jump to navigation

My New Blogging Experiment June 4, 2008

Posted by arikjohnson in Uncategorized.
trackback

Arik JohnsonIt’s been a long time coming but I’ve finally decided to get serious again about blogging.

My first blog was called “Competitive Intelligence by Arik Johnson” and got its start way back in July of 2003. It was the home of my (perhaps-somewhat-too-random) thoughts on all things CI-related, as well as, my own life in general for more than three years.

After Aurora decided to begin using the Drupal open source CMS framework for collaborating with clients, I decided merge my blog into ReconG2.com, our public competitive intelligence best practices community for Aurora’s clients and other friends and colleagues around the world. Then, a few months ago, as the new Aurora WDC website rolled out with native blogging features built inside our now-custom Drupal implementation, I could also manage my newsletter and other interactions with current and prospective clients and partners from the same spot.

Finally, however, I’ve determined that the subject matter of a company blog versus that which might find itself alongside my own personal blog is not necessarily the same, though I might cross-post to both many individual entries. So, I decided to start a new personal blogging home that would also allow me to features items on the company blog that emerge as relevant to that rather different audience.

As you may have heard, blogging has come a long way since 2003 and, quite frankly, I’m not sure what the best practices are these days. So, I’ve designed a little experiment to find out and benchmark the various blogging systems and tools. For the next few weeks (at least), I’ve chosen Google’s Blogger, Six Apart’s TypePad and Automattic’s WordPress.com as hosted blog engines to test optimization on the server side. I’ve also settled on a desktop blogging app in BlogJet 2.0 from Coding Robots which came very highly recommended by several users and reviewers, particularly for posting entries to multiple blogging systems, including those above (as well as the Aurora WDC company blog).

Now, the fun part: start blogging on the topics that interest me. I’ll let you know how it goes and, in the meanwhile, please let me know what you think in the comments.

More soonest and all the best,

Arik

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

